As of September 6, 2013 (5pm EDT), CDC has been notified of 646 ill persons with of Cyclospora infection from 24 states: Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York (including New York City), Ohio, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Most of the illness onset dates have ranged from mid-June through mid-July.

Among 575 ill persons with available information, 44 (8%) have reported being hospitalized. No deaths have been reported.