As of August 9, 2013 (5pm EDT), CDC has been notified of 535 cases of Cyclospora infection from the following 18 states: Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York (including New York City), Ohio, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Most of the illness onset dates have ranged from mid-June through early July.

At least 32 persons reportedly have been hospitalized in five states.

Nebraska and Iowa have performed investigations within their states and have shared the results of those investigations with CDC. Based on their analysis, Cyclospora infections in their states are linked to a salad mix. CDC will continue to work with federal, state, and local partners in the investigation to determine whether this conclusion applies to the increase in cases of cyclosporiasis in other states. Read More

It is not yet clear whether the cases from all of the states are part of the same outbreak.