As of August 19, 2013 (5pm EDT), CDC has been notified of 593 ill persons with of Cyclospora infection from 20 states: Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New York (including New York City), Ohio, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Most of the illness onset dates have ranged from mid-June through mid-July.

Among 423 ill persons with available information, 36 (9%) have reported being hospitalized. No deaths have been reported.