As of August 1, 2013 (5pm EDT), CDC has been notified of 400 cases of Cyclospora infection from the following 17 health departments: Iowa, Texas, Nebraska, Florida, Wisconsin, New York City, Georgia, Illinois, Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Connecticut, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, and Ohio.

Most of the illness onset dates have ranged from mid-June through early July.

At least 22 persons reportedly have been hospitalized in five states.